How I successfully got into Yoga

Michelle Kaminski
2 min readMar 28, 2021

--

Although for years I heard on the media how “amazing” and beneficial yoga was for the mind and body, I had a hard time becoming a true yogi. I definitely did not have the level of self-efficacy that I hold now, in which I truly believe I can and will get myself onto my yoga mat every day. I have learned over the course of the past few months that if you truly want to become dedicated to a daily practice, you really have to want it. It sounds way simpler than it actually is! In addition to a shift in my mindset, and telling myself that “I can” dedicate myself to a daily practice, I was able to envision myself being happier, less anxious, and more relaxed. I knew how much a daily yoga practice would help with my overall well-being if I simply did at least 15 minutes every day.

I already had enough knowledge of how much this practice would help me, since I have read tons of personal testimonials of how people praised yoga for curing lower back pain, anxiety, and sadness. Perhaps the largest and most powerful aspect that helped me to successfully become a yogi was Adrienne’s influential role as my yoga teacher. Having Adrienne to turn to as a constant source of motivation was key to my daily routine. She was an amazing role model, as she was so encouraging and calming in each video. She would put in words of encouragement, and even went out of her way to make a playlist on Spotify that contained songs which reminded her to “breathe.”

Listening to that playlist during the day, and knowing I would virtually have Adrienne on the mat with me during each practice helped add purpose into my routine. During a time when the world was constantly changing, I knew I could always show up to the mat and find Adrienne there with me.

--

--

Michelle Kaminski
0 Followers

Polish-American public health graduate student at Columbia University. Yoga, health, wellness, travel, nature, and animal lover.